Gingham Tulips

Pattern: Named Clothing’s Florence tulip dress

Fabric: Black and white gingham cotton from Minerva Crafts

IMG_2525
I did press the dress, promise! Also the hem is straight – I apparently don’t stand straight causing one side to slightly rise up…

IMG_2528

I have finally managed to finish this dress (which was only needing hemmed) having started it a few weeks ago now. I am so pleased with it – it’s the first dressy dress which I’ve made in ages, although as per I’m casually-ing it up with converse. I did have a few fit issues in that it was initially too snug a fit, but I remedied this by letting the zip out a bit. This in turn has had a knock on effect on how the checks lie so that they are no longer straight… but you know what? I’m over it. Life is too short for such silly concerns. I do not notice it (admittedly this is without my glasses on) and unless someone is really staring at me in all the jumble of checks they really shouldn’t either. In fact, this fabric probably wasn’t the best choice for this pattern in that it is virtually impossible to get every line matching up and/or lying straight. But you live and learn and I still love it – I do still think that this style of dress is perfect for summery gingham. All in all this is definitely a pattern I will be making again – as with all Named patterns I am yet to find one which I don’t like.

Anyway, that is all from me for now. Have a lovely weekend!

Hannah x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gingham Tulips

Leave a Reply

