Slouchy Tartan Coat

Pattern: IAM Patterns Artemis Coat

Fabric: Tartan wool from Croftmill, bought last Christmas

This coat was meant to be finished at least a good month ago. I have however been on top procrastinator form and as such have been picking it up and putting it down for ages now. I don’t know if it’s just with the general busyness of this time of year, or just having a lot on my mind lateky, but I’ve been struggling to focus for long on anything, resulting in lots of started and stopped projects, or else almost there but not quite projects. All this coat has needed done for weeks was the sleeves hemmed and bias binding attached to the inside seams. Not big jobs but somehow I never quite got around to them until last week when I forced myself to.

img_2350
I really really love this pattern. I love the style of the coat, the shape, the fit, the feel – everything. As my first foray into coat making it’s a very gentle introduction and I couldn’t be more happy with it. The only thing I think I would change is, next time – depending on the fabric – I will line it. The pattern doesn’t call for lining and I’m happy with this one unlined, instead finishing the inside seams with bias binding.

img_2352

img_2353
I’m really pleased with the pattern matching along the centre back seam

The fabric is pretty heavyweight so a lining may be too much – but, for a future lighter weight version, I think I’ll try popping a lining in.

img_2349
I’ve been after a jacket like this for a good while now; the fit, shape, style and fabric are completely up my street. Whilst I can appreciate a super sleek fitted tailored ‘hacking’ jacket they’re just not for me; I feel all wrong in them, too held together and formal. And whilst they are undoubtedly very smart and stylish I just feel a bit frumpy/mannish. No, for me is a looser fitting, ideal layering, less formal style. The Artemis coat ticks every box.  Made from six simple pieces – four front and two back – with the sleeves cut as one continuous bit from the main body (hence the slouchy fit at the shoulders) it is a very straightforward make. The most fiddly bit was the two buttonholes, which really weren’t that fiddly at all. I’ve already got another one planned in a beautifully soft grey/black wool from Guthrie and Ghani.

I’ve got a few projects waiting to be finished and blogged – an Elisalex dress, an upcycled skirt, and a top – hopefully before the New Year. Right now I’m cutting out fabric squares and piecing together a quilt in an attempt to get back into the swing of sewing.

Anyway, that’s all for now,

Hannah x

3 thoughts on “Slouchy Tartan Coat

  1. It is really hard to finish a project that’s been set aside. The momentum is gone, the actual tasks remaining don’t appeal, even though the idea of a finished garment is appealing. I try not to cut anything new until I’ve finished the thing before it, for fear of losing the momentum. Good for you for finishing, especially during this busy time of year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good routine to get into and one which I must be more disciplined about. My problem is I really love the planning process, selecting fabric and pinning and cutting and pattern so can never resist when a new idea strikes. My New Years resolution should maybe be to finish up existing projects first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

