Lumme Pleated Skirt

Pattern: Named Pattern’s Lumme skirt

Fabric: Cotton from Dragonfly Fabrics

Finally, after pretty much an entire summer, I have gotten back into the swing of sewing. Since coming home from my 3 months at Ballymaloe Cookery School it’s all been a bit mad (and it doesn’t look like letting up anytime soon – try November…), so it’s taken a wee bit of time to get back behind the sewing machine.

Between shifts in the tweed shop and private chef work it’s been all go – I can count on one hand the spare days I’ve had. But it’s all good – I’m just back from a week cooking on the North Esk for a group fishing which was lovely. They are regular clients – in fact they were my first ever clients five years ago – and it’s always lovely cooking for familiar faces.

Anyway, despite this I’ve managed to squeeze in some sewing and have a few makes piling up on my blogging to do list – a jacket, a floaty flowery skirt, an embroidered top and this, Named patterns Lumme skirt.

image

I’ve had this pattern kicking about for an absolute age but could never quite work out what fabric I wanted to use for it. After much humming and hawing I eventually settled on this cotton from Dragonfly Fabric – a lovely summery feeling fabric ideal for summer.

image

image

The construction of the skirt itself I don’t have much to say about – it was very straightforward thanks, as ever, to Named’s clear instructions.

And to be honest, that’s about all I have to say for now – it’s a great pattern and I will be sure to make it again, perhaps in a heavier weight fabric for winter. I’m all worded out – a busy day serving customers in the shop has drained my chat resources for now.

image
Summer has hit Scotland! 

Have a good week (enjoy the sunshine!)

Hannah x

6 thoughts on “Lumme Pleated Skirt

    1. Thank you Linda! I will do – it’s nice to get back to some sewing after a couple of months of very intensive cooking 🙂 I think cooking is definitely something you either love or don’t like!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great skirt, the fabric looks lovely and I think the diamonds around the hips works really well. I think a winter one is a great idea. You must have the creative gene for cooking and sewing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lynsey! I’m thinking some tartan fabric for a winter one… Maybe with a faux button placket down the front..? Haha yes I seem to have ended up with a creative gene – makes up for the total disaster I am when it comes to anything science or maths related!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

