The next 3 months…

I have a backlog of sewing to blog about, but, alas, I ran out of time to get photos of it all before I left for Ireland. In this backlog there is a pair of Marilla Walker’s Roberts Collection dungarees, a sunshine yellow, elephant patterned tunic dress, the Saltmarsh skirt from the Merchant and Mills book, an Aztec print pleated midi skirt and a stripy By Hand London Anna hacked into a peplum top. These are all hanging in my wardrobe at home, all finished in the last few weeks before I headed off to study at Ballymaloe Cookery School for 3 months. For, as I mentioned above, I am currently in County Cork, right in the very south of the Republic of Ireland.

After much humming and hawing I enrolled on the Ballymaloe Cookery School 12 week course last summer, and set about spending the 12 months between then and now working like a crazy lady to save the money I needed to go. I was lucky in that, on moving back home, my parents didn’t charge me rent, meaning that I could save every penny I earned (except tips, tips are for fabric and shoes…).

And so, my endless weeks cooking at shooting and fishing lodges, for dinner parties and for folk on holiday has paid off. I have made it to Ballymaloe, where I shall study, intensively, cookery from the very basic to the more complex. For, although I already cook regularly for a living, and have done so throughout my years at Uni, I feel the need – in order to progress further – to really cement what I already know and to increase and grow my abilities as a cook; for there is so much I have yet to learn. As cliche as it may sound, I do not know where the last year has gone – it has flown in and I am super excited to finally be here!

Sewing therefore shall be taking a wee bit of a back seat for the next 3 months, to be replaced by food (to my mind still a very creative outlet). I don’t want to abandon blogging though and, although this is primarily still a sewing blog, I want to also use it as an place to record my time at Ballymaloe. It’s not going to become a foodie blog, never fear, but there will be food featured heavily for a while, with full sewing service being returned sometime in July.

I am currently yet to meet the other folk on the course and am sat in Cork airport waiting to meet a few off a flight. We start properly on Monday, and I will no doubt be back with another post sometime next week with a proper speel about the course and (hopefully) how amazing it is!

Hope you all have a good weekend,
Hannah x

5 thoughts on “The next 3 months…

      1. And why not! It’s your blog and because they are almost like diaries, or I feel like that anyway, you can indulge yourself in anything you want to include in it! Happy cooking

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

