A Couple of Frocks and a Circle Skirt

Two posts in one week! I thought that, seeing as the last days of 2015 are upon us, I’d do a post featuring a couple of makes I made earlier in the year, pre sewing blog days. Makes I’m pleased with and want to ‘record’ on here, but which I feel I made too long ago to justify a blog post of their own. All of these makes were made for specific events, one a Spring wedding, the other my graduation and the other an art exhibition opening.

Satin Circle Skirt

image

Every year the final year painters at Gray’s (School of Art) (where I studied) put on an exhibition in Edinburgh, each showcasing one piece of work as a sort of taster for the final Degree Show in June. I made this skirt for the opening night of our Pre-Degree show at St Margaret’s House in Edinburgh, back in March. Made from crepe back satin from Fabric Godmother, I followed the tutorial on By Hand London’s blog for making a circle skirt, which made working out my sizes/fabric quantities/pattern pieces really simple. The weight and drape of the fabric is lovely, creating a skirt which swished and swirled perfectly.

Vintage Roses Elisalex Dress

image
A sneaky peek at my sewing space

This was my first foray into By Hand London’s patterns and the first proper fitted dress I’ve made which is wearable (previous attempts at a fitted dress had resulted in excess bagginess, or, worse, me resembling a sausage stuffed into it’s skin). Despite struggling with the zip – it was ripped out and reinserted several times before I was happy – and the fit at the back where it gapes quite a lot – and which I fixed with a couple of darts – I was, and still am, super happy with this dress. The fabric – a fairly heavyweight cotton – was from Edinburgh Fabrics and is, to my mind, pretty perfect. I love the Granny chic, curtains vibe it has; I feel it is definitely more vintage than frumpy. Just look at those joyous roses splashed across the fabric! My aim is to tackle the gaping at the back neckline for when I make future Elisalex’s – once that’s sorted it will be the perfect dress. I wore this dress to my boyfriend’s uncle’s wedding back in March.

image
Pulling a cheeser – the dress in action!

.

Black Cambie Dress

image

I made this dress in the weeks between degree show ending in June and graduation in July, as a dress to wear to graduation. Complying to the rule about wearing either black or white I bought a couple of metres of some plain black fabric from Croftmill, although I can’t for the life of me remember what it is, but the fabric has a slinky slidy feel to it not unlike crepe (it’s definitely not crepe though). I made a toile before moving on and making the actual dress, which fits like a glove. The main issue I did come across was due entirely to my own stupidity – I couldn’t, no matter how many times I read the instructions, work out how the lining attached. I eventually tried following an online tutorial, and with my mum breaking down the steps, succeeded in inserting it and, you know, once I’d done it I wasn’t sure what I’d got into such a fankle about – it seemed really obvious how to do it. Oh well! Anyway, I wore this dress to graduation and, for the sake of adding a spot of colour to the ensemble, wore my fabulous pair of Ruby Shoo blue flowery heels.

Have a happy new year when it comes!

Hannah x

4 thoughts on “A Couple of Frocks and a Circle Skirt

Leave a Reply

