Inari Tee Dress at Crathes Castle

Autumn is having its last gasp here in the North, with glorious clear sunny days, setting the trees ablaze in vibrant splashes of colour. The whole countryside in fact, is saturated with a final defiant wash of colour, before the more muted (or just downright bleak) browns and greys of winter take over. The nights are drawing in now, which, despite loving the long days of summer, I am rather pleased about – long evenings spent sewing seem more appropriate to dark wintery nights than light summery ones. As such I have several projects on the go at the moment, including a few crop tees (the second version of Named’s Inari pattern) and a pencil skirt. Today’s post however features a simple tee dress I made a wee while back in July, following Named’s Inari Tee dress pattern.

use 3

Heading out to Crathes Castle on Sunday, Scott and I spent a lovely afternoon pottering about the gardens and grounds. The sun was shining  and we had a picnic beside a beautiful castle – what more could you want from a Sunday afternoon?

use (4)

P1020272

use 1

Super simple to make I really don’t have a whole lot to say about the construction of this dress – it came together painlessly and totally fuss free, due largely to Named’s clear, straightforward instructions.  I love the simplicity of the style – very unstructured, it’s an easy, pull over the head ‘I’ve sort of made an effort but not really’ look, which I find myself going to again and again. The fabric I used here is from Merchant and Mills – a beautiful lightweight block printed cotton. I really love Merchant and Mills fabric – the website can be dangerous as I find it very hard to resist their lovely printed cottons. I’ve got some lovely blue grey striped fabric, also from Merchant and Mills, which may just end up as another dress like this…

use (1)
The walled gardens at Crathes are full of wee winding pathways and arches
Use 2
Crathes Castle, Aberdeenshire

Hannah x

3 thoughts on “Inari Tee Dress at Crathes Castle

Leave a Reply

